makeup monday: an introduction

June 3, 2013 § 2 Comments

There are two things you should know about me up front:

1. I love color. Like, lots of color.

2. I love makeup.

I gravitate towards bold, highly-pigmented colors, anything glittery, and big, full eyelashes. {Sephora ads are the stuff of my dreams.} To me, makeup will not only help you feel beautiful and confident, but it also is an amazing artistic outlet.

So each Monday, I plan to share something, anything involving my good friend Makeup. For now, it will probably be my favorite products. But eventually I would love to grow my photog and videog skills to include tutorials. I have some fun things in mind for what that might include, so stay tuned.

For my first post, I will share with you some of my tried and true faves, and then leave you with my wishlist. BIG SMILE!

TRIED AND TRUE FAVES

bareMinerals Original Foundation Broad Spectrum SPF 15 | L’Oreal Voluminous Original Mascara | Urban Decay Naked Palette

bareMinerals Original Foundation Broad Spectrum SPF 15: I’ve been using bareMinerals foundation for almost a decade now. I can’t get over the full coverage, the lightweight feel and the improvement in my skin overall. Golden Fair is my color. My only gripe about bareMinerals is the loose powder and how it can end up everywhere. {Side note: I tried using their Ready pressed-powder and was not impressed. It leaves skin very cakey, fills in fine lines drawing added attention, and ends up looking like marble on your face about six hours in. Do not recommend.}

L’Oreal Voluminous Original Mascara: You know when people ask you, “What’s the one piece of makeup you would never leave the house without wearing?” For me, that is the easiest question ever – MASCARA. I have blonde, ghost eyelashes – you can barely see them when my face is washed. And my eyelashes are one of my favorite features. So mascara is my go-to beauty product. I have tried dozens of brands. But, over and over, I return to this stuff. Voluminous is a great product for someone with long, thin eyelashes like me. It provides extra volume, thick color and leaves out the clumps. It’s beaten out several high-end products. It’s the jam.

Urban Decay Naked Palette: I’m only the bazillionth person to rave about Naked. But it’s still worth reinforcing. Naked is amazing. Get it. Now.

WISHLIST

I am seriously considering saving hefty portions of my paycheck in order to purchase and try these out. Oh the colors!!

Nars Satin Lip Pencil in Yu | smashbox Camera Ready CC Cream Broad Spectrum SPF 30 Dark Spot Correcting | smashbox Heat Wave Lip Gloss Set | Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette | butter London 3 Free Nail Lacquer in Trout Pout | smashbox Be Legendary Lipstick in Mandarin | Nars Lipstick in Heat Wave | tarte Aqualillies for tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Eye and Cheek Palette

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to makeup monday: an introduction

  • Must Have Boxes says:

    Welcome! I can’t wait to read more.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

    • KW, thanks so much for the welcome! I have started reading through your blog and am so excited to see you share your experience with different beauty boxes! I only receive Birchbox right now and have been lukewarm about my boxes so far. So your May Birchbox post was a huge encouragement to keep with it and *pray* for a full-sized lip gloss sample sometime in the future! I look forward to keeping up with your beauty box journey! Thanks for trying each of them out and helping us to decide which ones are right for us!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading makeup monday: an introduction at with whimsy.

meta

