Makeup Monday: Birchbox Review

June 18, 2013 § 3 Comments

My precious mother gave me a Birchbox subscription for my birthday. The first two boxes were phenomenal, and the last two were just okay (at best).

But this month. Oh this month. They made it up to me!

So if you’ve never received a Birchbox, let me walk you through the process. First, you open up the shipping box to see this beautiful, clean and simple second box. And then, just like when you’re opening the pages of a beloved magazine, you slowly lift the cover and read through the postcard, explaining the theme for the month and your particular samples, front and back.

After that, you are finally ready to peel back the hot pink tissue paper and discover your goodies!

IMG_9040

Immediately, I was pumped! My mother-in-law swears by davines hair care, and this sample was super hefty! After digging into the box further, I realized that davines also threw in conditioner and hair oil samples as well. So generous! I tried the shampoo and conditioner samples and noticed a huge difference in my hair. It was noticeably fuller, while also being more soft. And this wasn’t even the right formula for my hair. Definitely impressed. That, plus my mother-in-law’s recommendation, is making me think of purchasing this at full size.

My next favorite thing was the amazing Color Club neon pastel nail color! I painted my nails with it this weekend and fell in love with the edgy beachiness of the neon, yet toned down awesomeness of the orangey-pink pastel. It was an amazingly oxymoronic nail experience for me.

IMG_9061

Next in line of the favorites was the suki face exfoliate foaming cleanser. I can’t say that after one use I noticed a huge difference in my face. BUT I can tell you that the lemony goodness coming out of this is enough to make you feel like it’s sunny outside in the middle of a thunderstorm. I plan to keep using it and will let you know if I notice a big difference.

Finally, was the YOUNGBLOOD mineral perfecting powder. I think it’s probably a great product. But the sample size was so small that my blush brush (which I use incorrectly as my powder brush) couldn’t really appropriately catch the powder to evenly distribute it to my face. I know that’s got to be hard in sample size though.

IMG_9046

As you are aware if you receive Birchbox, they always throw in a fun (or not so fun in the case of last month’s writing pen) suprise. This month, they gave these awesome post cards that I really can’t decide if I want to washi tape up in my office or write and send out.

IMG_9055

Overall, this was a huge win for Birchbox this month! Now if they send me a new lipstick or eyeshadow in the near future, I may die of happiness!

IMG_9075

How was your Birchbox this month? Do you have a good box subscription service you love? I’d love to hear about it!

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Makeup Monday: Birchbox Review

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Makeup Monday: Birchbox Review at with whimsy.

meta

