Question of the Day

July 2, 2013 § 1 Comment

Steve Jobs

*source*

Have you ever watched Steve Jobs’ commencement address to Stanford University? If not, and you have a quick sec, I highly recommend watching this. I have seen this speech bring grown men to tears. (Really.) It’s inspiring to hear this man who affected so many of us talk about living out your dreams and learning from your failures. And it’s a little bit strange. I don’t know about you, but I don’t really expect to hear the leader of a technology company talking about something as right-brained as following your dreams.

But, not only did Jobs talk about this, he also credited much of his success to creating audacious goals and going for them 100%. Yes, he was brilliant. But if not for having a big dream and the courage to strive for them, he implies that he may not have ever impacted the billions of people worldwide that he did.

I don’t know that I will ever impact the entire world with my life. But I love the idea that setting big goals and striving for them can bring about incredible change, at least in the lives of those around me.

I want to live a life of intention and dreaming big.

So all of this brings me to my Question of the Day: What would the world look like if each of us were intentionally using our gifts to impact the world around us?

I feel like each of us were given strengths from the Lord that make us extremely good at some.thing. And if we were searching our hearts and praying earnestly, what would God show us that we were made to do? And if we were each doing that thing, what would the world look like?

If you dig too deep, it can become a big, daunting question, riddled with theological hesitations. But if you leave all that out and just think about it at surface level, it is really quite simple.

So I’m going to keep asking this question… prayerfully seeking out that which I was made to do.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Question of the Day

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Question of the Day at with whimsy.

meta

