Makeup Monday: Berry Lip

July 9, 2013 § 1 Comment

Welp, it’s not really Monday anymore, but what’s a girl to do? I’m still going for the Makeup Monday post!

Hot Pink Lip

*source*

I think I have expressed my love for a hot pink lip before. I can’t get over how much fun they add to an outfit [see above]! So lately, I have been wearing a lot of magenta and hot pinkish-coral numbers on my lips.

But my brother mentioned to me this weekend that he thought I should try out a deeper color. While I think Jessica Chastain’s gorgeous deep berry/plum lip from this post was stunning. I have to go for something a little more in this family:

Berry Lip

*source unknown, found via pinterest*

My awesome husband took me on a mini-spree [read: got to purchase an item!] to Sephora tonight [ALL his idea + Despicable Me 2 – I know… he’s a keeper!] [I’m going to stop doing parenthesis starting now]. With the above photo in mind, I looked for something that would fit the bill.

I ended up deciding to use my one purchase on They’re Real! Mascara by benefit because I just have to see for myself whether it beats out my beloved L’Oreal Voluminous or not. So no lip purchases were made just yet. But the front runner in the berry category right now is…

Luxembourg

NARS Satin Lip Pencil in Luxembourg

The color showed up on me as a deep raspberry. Basically the color on the model in the photo, but much more opaque. True to its name, it went on very satiny. And while it didn’t survive my snacking during the movie, the leftover stain was noticeable and a much lovelier tone than my normal nude lip color.

I want to do a little more research to determine if this is THE ONE for me, because I have heard some impressive things about Rimmel’s lip collection. But I wouldn’t be surprised if this makes its way into my makeup bag sometime down the road.

Do you have any berry lip products that you love? Please share!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Makeup Monday: Berry Lip

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Makeup Monday: Berry Lip at with whimsy.

meta

