What If You Really Started Following Your Dreams?

July 12, 2013 § Leave a comment

Lately, it seems like several of my conversations with friends have turned to these dreams we have of doing something BIG. I’m sure that part of the reason for this subject coming up is my own deep interest in dreams of late. But many of the people I have been talking with have brought up their passions on their own. They have been feeling this whisper that they were created for important things, bigger things than they are doing now. And they want to start exploring them.

Louder

*source unknown*

I know that our generation has been labeled as very entitled. And I desperately pray that isn’t my heart. When I talk about following dreams, it isn’t about becoming famous one day or even doing something that impacts the entire world. I just really believe that the Lord created us for unique things that he prepared for us before we were even born. And I want to work towards doing those things.

Ephesians 2:10 – For we are his workmanship, created in Chris Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

If you look at the immensely talented believers living (or who have lived) in the public eye, you’ll begin to notice a common theme.

1. Michelangelo: When asked about how he made the David, he said, “It is easy. You just chip away the stone that doesn’t look like David.” In his older age, he said, “Many believe – and I believe – that I have been designated for this work by God. In spite of my old age, I do not want to give it up; I work out of love for God and I put all my hope in Him.”

2. John Coltrane: If you follow Tim Keller in any capacity, you have probably heard his story about John Coltrane and A Love Supreme. After a period of wandering, Coltrane wrote in his liner notes, “In the year of 1957, I experienced, by the grace of God, a spiritual awakening, which was to lead me to a richer, fuller, more productive life.” While Coltrane didn’t talk about his experience with the Lord in detail, an old bandmate says, “He told me, he says, ‘I respond to what’s around me,'” remembers Tyner. “That’s the way it should be, you know? And it was just—I couldn’t wait to go to work at night. It was just such a wonderful experience. I mean, I didn’t know what we were going to do. We couldn’t really explain why things came together so well, you know, and why it was, you know, meant to be. I mean, it’s hard to explain things like that.” (Read the full NPR article here.)

3. Mariano Rivera: Rivera is commonly thought of as the best ever closer in baseball. He has a pitch known as the “Cutter” that is basically unhittable. When asked about how he learned to pitch like that, he says, “All of a sudden the ball started moving, cutting, in a way I’d never seen before. I wasn’t doing anything different, yet it had a life of its own. So, tell me, how do you explain that? [Mendoza] kept asking me what I was doing to make the ball move like that, and I had no answer. To me, the pitch was a gift from God.  How can I really teach this pitch if I can’t explain how it came to me in the first place?” (Read the full Hardball Talk article here.) Then again in an interview with New York Magazine, the author relays his conversation with Rivera, “Even as Rivera denies that his talent belongs to him, I steal a look at his magic right arm. ‘You don’t own your gifts like a pair of jeans,’ he says. By that reasoning, I venture, you might say that even the cutter doesn’t belong to you. ‘It doesn’t,’ he answers, nodding emphatically. ‘It doesn’t. He could give it to anyone he wants, but you know what? He put it in me. He put it in me, for me to use it. To bring glory, not to Mariano Rivera, but to the Lord.'” (Read the full New York Magazine article here.)

The thread that weaves through each of these quotes is that they all felt uniquely blessed by God to do something. They couldn’t even explain how it happened. It was just natural.

Stay Passionate

*source*

As much as I’d like to, I don’t believe that we were each created with the ability to do something as well as the three individuals above. But I do believe there is some gift within us that we were uniquely created to do and would be so effortless to us, we wouldn’t even be able to explain how we did it. It’s just like breathing.

So my question is, is what you’re doing now effortless to you? If not, I don’t think you should go and quit your job immediately. I just think each of us should begin praying for the Lord to reveal to us what He created us to do. Purpose is something so many of us live without. I think it would be interesting to see what the Lord would show us if we asked Him to.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What If You Really Started Following Your Dreams? at with whimsy.

meta

