Makeup Monday: Concealer

August 5, 2013 § Leave a comment

Confession: I have a serious problem with dark under eye circles. This is due, no doubt, in part to my ever-decreasing amount of sleep and in part to my severe lack of H2O consumption. Both, mind you, things I can control. But that means I’d have to start incorporating some self-discipline into my life, and where’s the fun in that?

So instead, I’m on the lookout for a miracle concealer to take care of the bad boys for me.

This journey has been going on for about a year now. In my quest, these concealers did not make the cut:

So yesterday, I went by Ulta, no longer willing to accept mediocrity.

concealer jar

In my experience, NYX Cosmetics has always made surprisingly impressive beauty products for a very good price. So I picked up their Above & Beyond Full Coverage Concealer in Porcelain. While it definitely beat out the e.l.f. and Cover Girl versions, it is still unfortunately not the winner. Upon first application, it does go on nicely and appears to cover the darkness well. But as the day went on, the natural oils around my eyes wore away at the concealer, resulting in it getting stuck in my creases and mascara flakes smudging into the formula. This is what I get for wanting to only pay $5. I think it’s official now. I’m going to have to shell out a good bit for a product that’s really going to do the job.

erase paste

And I think I know the answer. While at Ulta, I tried out the Benefit Erase Paste. This stuff is legit. It was so thick, I am sure it could cover up any amount of dark circles and blemishes you threw its way. Unfortunately, the $26 price tag was a little too much for my makeup budget at the time. As I was checking out, I spotted a $10 travel size version (didn’t look much smaller than the full size product). So I’ll probably go back and grab that. Here’s hoping!

What about you? Do you have any concealer faves?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Makeup Monday: Concealer at with whimsy.

meta

