Let’s Make Habits

August 13, 2013 § 2 Comments

Jenny’s blog is amazing. I’ve been reading it regularly for several months and have been extremely encouraged by her positive outlook and willingness to share insight and resources that help others. Her Making it Happen and Uniquely You posts are really great. And her Download This desktop designs are so fun!

She came up with a fantastic idea called Let’s Make Habits. The idea is that we have goals that we never accomplish because of a lack of accountability, time or motivation, or a combination of the three. So she is hosting a weekly link up where you can post about your goals and update others on how they’re coming along.

I love this plan because I have lots of goals that I often get lazy about and let fall by the wayside. The goal I am choosing is one that I would really like to accomplish, but need some good accountability around.

GOAL: TO READ MY BIBLE EVERY DAY AND KEEP A JOURNAL

When I studied abroad in Spain, I made a commitment to write in my journal every day because I knew I would want to go back and read about my experience in the future. I’m not sure if I kept up with it just because I knew I only had to keep it up for two months, or because I cared more about having these stories documented at the end of the adventure than I cared about the effort I would have to exert to make it happen. I’m sure it was a combination of both.

Either way, I now cherish that journal and look back on that time as one of the periods of my life where I felt closest to the Lord.

So I am committing to read my Bible every day and keep a journal about what I’m reading and learning, and about what’s going on in my life. My hope is that by the end of the two months, I have made a habit of it and will continue on with the journey. Maybe thinking of it as a two-month commitment again will help me make it happen.

If you want to join, link up over on Jenny’s blog! She’ll be posting her updates every Saturday.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Let’s Make Habits

  • Alexa says:

    I’m a huge fan of keeping handwritten journals; I’ve been doing it since I was 11 and I cherish every memory I’ve archived over the years. Great goal, dear! Good luck, I’ll be following along as I do mine =)

  • Thank you for the encouragement! I admire you for keeping up with it for so long! How much time do you spend on it a day? I’m trying to figure out what makes sense for our life right now. But I’m so intrigued by others who do it well. Really looking forward to following your journey too! I love the idea of focusing on rest. A fantastic goal!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Let’s Make Habits at with whimsy.

meta

