Working Lady Style

August 28, 2013 § 1 Comment

IMG_9700So I’m going to throw it out there that I know this outfit looks super weird when not on a body, as shown above. The proportions seem totally out of whack. But I’m hoping you’ll trust me on this… it’s a good look.

We all know my love for glitter as a statement piece for work outfits, and this outfit is no exception.

The components:

The jacket is from Banana Republic Outlet and is kind of a tuxedo style, with silver beading along the edges of the lapels. It’s a cropped, 3/4 length sleeve jacket. So it can’t be worn with just any shirt/pant combination. But when worn with the right items, it is a ton of fun.

IMG_9721The shirt is a great silk, beaded top from Anthro. For the first year I had it, I thought it wasn’t work appropriate because the fabric doesn’t go all the way to your underarms, leaving lots of bared skin when paired with a cardigan. Plus, it is super long, which is a little less formal than needed in my office. But, one day, I looked at it differently and realized that with some creative tweaking, it just might work. And it did! I wear it tucked in and then a little loose, muffin-top-like, to add some visibility to the shirt between the cropped jacket and the pant. I like the silver and gold combo you get from the pairing of this with the tuxedo jacket.

IMG_9708The pants are a classic black wool cropped pant from J. Crew Factory. These are a huge staple in my wardrobe. The beauty of the cropped pant is they can be worn with flats, heels or wedges! For a short one like me, this is a huge plus!

The shoes are Jessica Simpson. And honestly, I can only wear them on days I’m not doing much walking, and the walking I’m doing is on carpet or a rubber floor (why aren’t there more of these in the workplace????). But I love to look at them. I am a s.u.c.k.e.r. for suede shoes. Just off the top of my head, I have six pairs. It’s a problem.

Most of these accessories have made appearances before, but I think they add a nice touch to this look as well. The belt and earrings are from J. Crew Factory and the watch is Michael Kors.

My sister just moved to Atlanta, so I am hoping she can help me transition this series into some actual photos with bodies in the clothes so you can see everything how it really looks. I think that will especially help with these cropped pant looks that seem so strange without a human.

But the biggest thing to take away from this look is to think creatively about items in your closet that you have mentally classified as evening/weekend clothes. With a little tweaking, they may prove to work with your working wardrobe, opening up several new outfits to you without ever having to go shopping!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Working Lady Style

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Working Lady Style at with whimsy.

meta

