Let’s Make Habits

September 11, 2013 § Leave a comment

f98c6-habits_230x400_watecolorUPDATE

I love how the last sentence in my previous Let’s Make Habits post was: “This week, I’m traveling for work and should be able to stay more committed.” Ha! As you’ve seen in my last two posts, it’s been a little bit of an intense week. I’ve been able to journal about once and read my Bible a few times. Turns out that having people join me on my work visits has been incredible from a camaraderie and extra hands standpoint. But this also means much later evenings exploring cities and eating dinners together, etc. So I end up having to work for several hours in the hotel room and then typically have to make a decision to go to bed instead of getting to do any fun “me” stuff.

EVALUATING YOUR GOAL AND ADJUSTING

Unfortunately, I have a week and a half left of travel. So realistically, I’m not sure exactly what my commitment level is going to be able to be. I know this isn’t a normal schedule for me, so I’m trying to really think through how I need to adjust my goal.

As Jenny mentioned in her post, it is important to not just let yourself make excuses to get out of the hard work. But right now, there’s a certain level of guilt coming with my failure to perform all my commitments {i.e. basically anything that isn’t work – my relationships, friendships, blog, journaling}. And I’m not sure how healthy that is when it’s not realistic.

So I think I’m going to try and journal as much as it makes sense this week and next week. I’m at the point in the process where I’m really enjoying journaling when I have the chance. So I don’t think I’m going to skimp on it if I have some time to do it.

Then after my travels are finished, I’m going to go back to my original commitment because I think it is doable under normal circumstances.

Obviously, in the midst of all of this, I haven’t been able to read as much of everyone else’s updates as I would like. But I hope you’re all doing well on your journeys and I hope to rejoin the community more proactively in a week and a half!!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Let’s Make Habits at with whimsy.

meta

