Add Some Whimsy to Your Life!

October 9, 2013 § Leave a comment

So we’ve covered some of my favorite whimsical books and movies. Now it’s time for music!

Whimsy is a little harder for me to define in the realm of music. Many different songs feel whimsical to me for different reasons. So since it’s my blog and I make the rules, I’m going to throw all of them into this post, and hopefully one of them will strike your fancy. Then you can pop that sucker into Pandora and create your own whimsical playlist from there!

Half an Acre | Hem

So this is the ultimate in musical whimsy to me. The biggest reason for this is the soft melody, mixed with the gorgeous instrumentals. But the lyrics are really good as well. It’s rare I find a song that seems so perfect… and one that I still love six years after hearing it for the first time. (If you’re like me and can’t stand it when you’ve heard or seen something somewhere but can’t remember where and this one is doing that to you — you are probably recognizing it from the Liberty Mutual commercials back in the day.)

Make | Johnnyswim

This one lacks a little of that foresty-whimsy that was present in Half an Acre. But it’s still melodic whimsy to me. I can’t stop listening to it. The harmony is about as perfect as you can get. And the lyrics are strong. Your soul will respond to this one. (Even as we sit here, my husband can’t help but sing along.)

Mary | Patty Griffin

For any of you Blue Like Jazz fans out there, you may remember this. Throughout the book, Donald Miller mentions that he used to drive around with a dear friend, playing this song on repeat. And I get it. Patty always has a beautiful voice, so that’s happening. But the harmony is stunning again. And the whole concept is just gripping to me.

Like the Dawn | The Oh Hellos

This is probably the most excited I have gotten about music in a long time. A brother and sister duo, Maggie and Tyler Heath have filled a long-noticed gap in the “quote unquote Christian music world.” We have this amazing story that the Bible tells so beautifully. Yet often, I don’t feel like music is capturing this beauty and dissonance that is happening throughout history and now in our lives as well. But Maggie and Tyler have discovered how to bottle that and write and compose the perfect soundtrack. The whole album is meant to be listened to in order, track by track. And it just takes you on a journey. By far one of the most whimsical, beautiful, and truth-speaking albums I have ever heard. You should go right now over to their site and listen to the whole album. Please, please, please read the lyrics as you go. So. so. so. good.

Viva La Vida | Coldplay

You may get to this point and go, “Huh??” I know Coldplay is super mainstream at this point. But I think they are the Beatles of our time. And they have figured out this whimsical component to their music. I love so many of their songs from Yellow to Paradise to Fix You to The Scientist to Every Teardrop is a Waterfall. So fantastic. I’ll never get tired of them. And this one may be the best of all. They have transported us to another world with it. That’s whimsy at its finest.

Like Ships Need the Sea | Emily Hearn

I heard Emily Hearn for the first time about four years ago at a backyard concert in Athens, Georgia. She was so nervous, she had to have a friend sit on the deck with her while she sang. She performed the best version of Jolene I have ever heard. By far. You know how backyard concerts are when everyone’s all chatty while the person is singing? Well everyone literally stopped making any noise… I think we all stopped breathing. She has the most natural and beautiful voice. And this one is my favorite she’s ever written. It’s pretty gorgeous. And to mix the final two faves, she did a cover of The Scientist that is lovely.

Well, I think I could go on and on like this forever. So I’m going to stop it here and maybe I’ll do another whimsy playlist for you in the future sometime, if you like.

It’s so interesting writing about why you like a song. It’s so nebulous. There’s this ineffable factor to a whimsical song to me. My heart just responds to it. Each of these just speak to me. …Heavy. Haha! Hope you love them as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Add Some Whimsy to Your Life! at with whimsy.

meta

