DIY: Mod Podge Bookshelf

October 18, 2013 § 4 Comments

When you find yourself wanting new furniture, do you go through a similar process to this?

Self: “I want new furniture. Hmmm, let’s see what I can find on Pinterest, and Pottery Barn, and Crate and Barrel.”

…Two hours of internet searching later…

Self: “Well, that was fun and depressing. I can’t afford any of this. I’ll go check Ikea’s site and see what I can get there.”

…Twenty minutes later…

Self: “Well, who knew that cheap ole Ikea isn’t really that cheap? Seventy bucks for a bookcase is ridiculous! Well, Target it is.”

And you end up buying this $30 bookshelf that is pretty plain and terrible quality*.

So what do you end up doing to make it work in your house filled with items that reflect who you are? You can Mod Podge it!

All you need:

  • An old book
  • Mod Podge
  • A paint brush

IMG_9723

While the materials and the process are easy, it does take quite a long time for something the size of a bookshelf. But if you have some spare time, plop yourself down {on a regular basis} in front of a good movie or Netflix TV show and just take it shelf by shelf.

First, you’re going to want to clean the bookshelf. Then, you’ll tear out the pages of your book. Take an individual page and paint the Mod Podge onto both sides. Holding the wet page in your fingers, swipe a little bit of the Mod Podge onto the space on the shelf where you plan to place the sheet. Then, adhere the page to that spot, doing your best to make sure it’s flush to the flat surface, with no air pockets. That being said, air pockets are nearly inevitable, so have a little grace with yourself.

Beware that the Mod Podge is going to cover your hands with a really awful residue. But if you just continue to wash them every so often, you’ll be just fine. You might even come to enjoy peeling off the long sections… I know, I’m weird.

Repeat this process until one whole shelf is finished. After it’s complete, I recommend adding a final layer of Mod Podge to the entire shelf and then letting it dry. Do this for every shelf and for the frame, and after a lot of long hours, you will have a beautiful, one-of-a-kind creation for your house.

IMG_9727

*{Is that crazy of me? I think I have a really warped view of what furniture costs. It was probably that $15 couch I got from Goodwill in college that ruined me forever.}

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to DIY: Mod Podge Bookshelf

  • Cason says:

    Ahhhh! This is awesome. Teach me your DIY ways. I might need to see this one in person!

  • Marlene says:

    No, I’m like that too, $70 for a bookcase is ridiculous, but they are even more expensive here in NZ because of lack of competition. What’s worse is the quality of the material. Enough to put me off the whole project. So this is a really great idea 🙂 thanks for sharing

    • I’m so glad you like it!! I can’t even imagine more expensive bookcases. It is definitely enough to drive you crazy. I hope this project saves you money and gives you something pretty in your house! And thank you so much for reading all the way from New Zealand!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading DIY: Mod Podge Bookshelf at with whimsy.

meta

