Working Lady Resources

November 13, 2013 § 2 Comments

A couple of weeks ago, I shared my thoughts on the working lady mindset. The bottom line was: there are a lot of things out of our control when it comes to our working lives. But the main things we can control are our attitudes towards others and ourselves, our beliefs about others and ourselves, and our beliefs about what God has to say about our work.Make Ourselves Strong

While I have certainly not done a marvelous job about controlling my attitude and beliefs every day since writing that post, I do believe that mentality is starting to creep in more often and ruffling my feathers during my pity parties. A little voice in my head keeps whispering, “Remember the Gospel applies to your work. Breathe.” So I’m going to keep trying to listen to the Holy Spirit and allow Him to comfort me in these times of weakness.

But in the meantime, I have some resources {!!!} that I think might help you learn to move from a stress-oriented mindset to a calm one, some that might create a working environment that helps stimulate creativity and positivity at work, and some that might just help you start discovering what your life story is going to be about while you continue working hard. As you read through them, keep in mind this might be a good formula for a baby-step-oriented thought process of moving from where you are to where you want to be down the road.

REMAIN CALM: Where you are right now is not only a reality, but it’s a gift. Therefore, try to release stressful thoughts to the Lord and work on being thankful for where you’re at. Give yourself grace to not feel over-the-moon all the time and you might find that the lack of pressure to love it every second might be a welcome relief.

 

STIMULATE CREATIVITY AND POSITIVITY: After you’ve slowed down and let yourself breathe a little, do your best to create a work environment that is positive and gets your creative juices flowing. These dress-your-tech designs have been such a fun addition to my cell and computer. As soon as I open it up, instead of seeing a boring company logo, I’ve got these encouraging phrases and beautiful designs welcoming me into the working day. And the Anthro desk accessories and notebooks are a lovely way to spruce up any desk.

 

THINK ABOUT YOUR LIFE STORY: Finally, after you’ve learned to be thankful for where you’re at and done your best to improve your work environment, start thinking about what you want your life story to be about. The resources below are a mixture of encouragement, how to, and future options. I am starting Storyline with some dear friends on Friday, so I’ll keep you posted on how effective it is.

 

Overall, I hope these tools will be helpful in contributing to a healthy mindset and potential launch into determining what your life story and purpose are going to be about.

Let me know if there are specific resources you’re interested in and I can do some research – I love learning as much as I can about creating positive work environments!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Working Lady Resources

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Working Lady Resources at with whimsy.

meta

