Makeup Monday: Naked 3 Palette

January 8, 2014 § 2 Comments

Well hello lovelies! After an unannounced and unanticipated two month hiatus, I am back! Thank you for your patience with me while I was out of commission. I’m not sure that I ever mentioned, but my husband has twin brothers who both had some quite exciting life happenings scheduled for Christmas week. One had a baby due on Dec. 24 and the other was getting married on Dec. 28! Well along with these little life happenings come showers and planning and such. So from November on, I was sucked into the swirling vortex of baby-wedding land. And it was lovely, I must say! We walked away from all the craziness with two new ladies in the family and I couldn’t be more excited about either one!!

But now that life has slowed down enormously, I feel like it’s time to dive back in. And what would be more appropriate than a Makeup Monday post? A Makeup Monday post on Tuesday! You know how I roll.

My husband has figured me out over the past (almost) four years of marriage and confirmed this by turning my Christmas into a massive makeup haul. I cannot tell you how excited I was to unwrap FIVE The Body Shop makeup brushes, a YSL lipstick, a gorgeous palette from Jouer (with an incredible story to boot! more on that later), and the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette!

IMG_9208

Quite honestly, I didn’t even know they had released a third palette (I haven’t caught up on Essie Button in months!). So I was elated at his gift-giving prowess. Turns out, he couldn’t decide between the 2 and the 3 and asked a Sephora saleswoman. They said that the 3 was better for fair skin, and he went for it!

Naked 3 is filled with rosy-hued goodness. From the super light-pink Strange to the dark Blackheart, there’s a little red or pink in every shadow. Candidly, I was a little uncomfortable with rosey colors on my eyes at first. Sometimes those colors can make you look like a 5-year-old got a little carried away in mom’s makeup bag, if you know what I mean. But leave it to the Naked team to give us just the right tints that end up flattering most any face.

IMG_9271As per usual, the pigmentation is fantastic, especially when paired with their Eyeshadow Primer Potion. I even noticed that the glitter option Dust is less flaky than the respective sparkly Sidecar in the original palette.

It also came with a double-sided brush, one for painting it on and the other for blending. While it is a basic brush, the quality is only a couple steps down from two of The Body Shop brushes Joel got me. Not bad, I say.

One note about value. These aren’t cheap palettes. I think all three of them are $50. But, Joel got me the original Naked Palette for Christmas two years ago and I have only hit pan on TWO of the colors!! These two colors happen to be the over-the-whole-lid colors. And I have been using the Palette at least 3/4 of the week for that two year period. All that to say, if you’re asking yourself if it’s worth the investment, I can say 100% that it is.

IMG_9212Overall I am super thrilled with this gem! I haven’t figured out which colors are my go-to just yet, but I’m having a lot of fun experimenting! Did any of you get the Naked 3 Palette? If so, what are your favorite combinations? Do you like Naked, Naked 2 or Naked 3 the best? I guess I’ll just have to get Naked 2 to give you my final vote!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Makeup Monday: Naked 3 Palette

  • sitwithus says:

    Ash, I LOVE Naked 3! Technically Kat owns it but I borrow it all the time! I think if I had to choose though the Naked 2 palette is my fave. I really only use the original Naked palette for really bold looks. Love the brush on 3 though!

  • Good to know, Cas! I think I would love Naked 2. And I have some leftover Christmas money + a Sephora gift card that might just have to go towards that purchase.

    I can’t wait to read one of your posts on your new blog!! Anyone reading these comments should go check it out! http://www.sitwithusblog.com

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Makeup Monday: Naked 3 Palette at with whimsy.

meta

