Working Lady Mindset

January 10, 2014 § Leave a comment

Do you think you’d be healthier if you had less stress in your life? I certainly have always thought that.

Well this TED Talk from psychologist Kelly McGonigal shares some extremely interesting research on the effect of your beliefs about stress on your life. Perhaps stress was really made to help you achieve things, but your mindset about it has been all wrong.

This was extremely fascinating to me and really helps me have a better mindset going into what I would normally consider a stressful day.

One of the most incredible lines to me was: “Your stress response has a built-in mechanism for stress resilience, and that mechanism is human connection.” What a wonderful reminder that we were created to help each other go through difficult things.

It’s so tempting to avoid people when working because you think you just don’t have time to talk. But we’re there to help each other cope. I couldn’t be more thankful for those work friends in my life who bring me encouragement and remind me that I can handle the tough times.

What do you think about all of this? Do you think it’s kind of hokey? Or do you think she’s onto something?

No matter what, I think her benediction was pretty awesome. Take it with you throughout the day and live inspired: “Go after what it is that creates meaning in your life and then trust yourself to handle the stress that follows.”

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Working Lady Mindset at with whimsy.

meta

