Loving Lately: Mornings

April 8, 2014 § Leave a comment

IMG_0170

I am not a morning person. Like at all. Joel and I thankfully get along in this area and just avoid any and all verbal communication prior to 10 am. It has worked really well for us these past four years.

But ever since quitting my job and having a little bit of a later alarm clock, this very interesting thing has happened. I have started to enjoy my mornings.

{Insert GASP!!!!!!}

I don’t really sleep in much. I usually wake up by 8:30 or 9 {if that sounds like sleeping in to you, you should see what our weekend alarm clocks are… shameful}. Then I go for a run. Doing it first thing in the morning just makes me feel like I have the whole day ahead of me. After that, I come in and read my Bible. Then I shower. And then I get started on whatever work I need to be doing for the day.

IMG_0167

This time has become so precious to me that I find myself getting excited to get out of bed in the morning. It’s crazy!

I think having the choice of getting out of bed or not and having it on my terms certainly helps with this whole thing. But I’m really quite happy about this recent shift.

What about you? Are you a morning person or a night owl? What are your favorite morning rituals?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Loving Lately: Mornings at with whimsy.

meta

